[Wvgc-go] Fwd: AGA rules question

Peter Drake drake at lclark.edu
Mon Jul 19 11:24:44 PDT 2010


Here's one for you tournament directors and rules experts out there.  
I'm probably missing something obvious (and will realize it just after  
I send out this post), but here goes:

-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: pastedGraphic.png
Type: image/png
Size: 50495 bytes
Desc: not available
URL: <http://computer-go.org/pipermail/wvgc-go/attachments/20100719/e8e19e26/attachment.png>
-------------- next part --------------



In the attached diagram, the white stones are obviously dead. The  
question is: does white profit by playing G1, forcing black to connect  
at E1? (There is no current ko.)

It seems that, under AGA rules, the answer depends on whether we use  
area (Chinese) or territory (Japanese) counting. I thought that wasn't  
supposed to happen.

Under area counting, all of this area belongs to black and prisoners  
don't count, so clearly white's struggling is irrelevant.

Under territory counting, the G1-E1 exchange gains one prisoner for  
each player and costs black a point of territory. (Both players play  
one move, so the pass stones aren't relevant.) Isn't this a gain of  
one point for white? Is it the same under Japanese rules?

Peter Drake
http://www.lclark.edu/~drake/






More information about the Wvgc-go mailing list