[Wvgc-go] Fwd: AGA rules question

scott nichols deoryp at gmail.com
Mon Aug 30 10:00:13 PDT 2010


It seems to me that white has already one that one stone at H1 and is able
to take it to gain a point. But the play at G1 forces E1 which is a draw.

The point difference you are seeing i think is the H1 stone, not the forced
connect.

thats my 2 cents.
-Scott

On Mon, Jul 19, 2010 at 11:24 AM, Peter Drake <drake at lclark.edu> wrote:

> Here's one for you tournament directors and rules experts out there. I'm
> probably missing something obvious (and will realize it just after I send
> out this post), but here goes:
>
>
>
>
>
> In the attached diagram, the white stones are obviously dead. The question
> is: does white profit by playing G1, forcing black to connect at E1? (There
> is no current ko.)
>
> It seems that, under AGA rules, the answer depends on whether we use area
> (Chinese) or territory (Japanese) counting. I thought that wasn't supposed
> to happen.
>
> Under area counting, all of this area belongs to black and prisoners don't
> count, so clearly white's struggling is irrelevant.
>
> Under territory counting, the G1-E1 exchange gains one prisoner for each
> player and costs black a point of territory. (Both players play one move, so
> the pass stones aren't relevant.) Isn't this a gain of one point for white?
> Is it the same under Japanese rules?
>
> Peter Drake
> http://www.lclark.edu/~drake/
>
>
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Wvgc-go mailing list
> Wvgc-go at dvandva.org
> http://dvandva.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/wvgc-go
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://computer-go.org/pipermail/wvgc-go/attachments/20100830/ae3d75f0/attachment.html>


More information about the Wvgc-go mailing list