[Computer-go] A question on seki scoring in Japanese rules

Erik van der Werf erikvanderwerf at gmail.com
Sun Sep 9 09:46:44 PDT 2012


On Sun, Sep 9, 2012 at 6:30 PM, Robert Jasiek <jasiek at snafu.de> wrote:

> On 09.09.2012 17:29, Erik van der Werf wrote:
>
>> Once you get to the scoring phase every stone in the seki should be
>>>> assumed alive (even if, e.g., it has only one liberty). It is up to the
>>>> players to decide which pieces are dead
>>>>
>>> This answer does not hold for Japanese rules in general.
>>>
>> The first line or the (partially quoted) second line?
>>
>
> Both sentences. J1989, double ko seki, the ko stones are dead. J1989 or
> WAGC: the players do not have free choice to decide but they must determine
> status according to the rules.


Thx. While I find the concept 'dead in seki' a bit absurd, it's interesting
to know it exists in some variations of Japanese rules.

Erik
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://computer-go.org/pipermail/computer-go/attachments/20120909/415d8368/attachment.html>


More information about the Computer-go mailing list