[Computer-go] A question on seki scoring in Japanese rules
Erik van der Werf
erikvanderwerf at gmail.com
Sun Sep 9 07:56:20 PDT 2012
The simple answer is Robert's recommendation to capture before ending the
game. Once you get to the scoring phase every stone in the seki should be
assumed alive (even if, e.g., it has only one liberty). It is up to the
players to decide which pieces are dead (and therefore can be captured)
before the game ends. This is not a trivial decision because it may destroy
the seki (i.e., you could loose a semeai).
For fun look up Hanezeki
On Sun, Sep 9, 2012 at 4:30 PM, fastgo <fastgo at gmail.com> wrote:
> Thanks. I thought it is a common situation, there would be simple answers,
> like in the case of seki eye with one dead piece, it is 0,1,2 or 3 etc.
> On Sep 9, 2012 10:20 AM, "Robert Jasiek" <jasiek at snafu.de> wrote:
>> On 09.09.2012 16:09, fastgo wrote:
>>> Japanese rules. In a case of seki where
>>> one side has one or two surrounded dead stones, how are those scored?
>> It depends on which Japanese ruleset is used and on the procedural moment
>> when the question is being studied for a position. It can depend on referee
>> In short, capture (possibly throw-in and capture again) before the first
>> succession of passes is my recommendation.
>> robert jasiek
>> Computer-go mailing list
>> Computer-go at dvandva.org
> Computer-go mailing list
> Computer-go at dvandva.org
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
More information about the Computer-go