[Computer-go] A question on seki scoring in Japanese rules

Robert Jasiek jasiek at snafu.de
Sun Sep 9 07:19:43 PDT 2012


On 09.09.2012 16:09, fastgo wrote:
> Japanese rules. In a case of seki where
> one side has one or two surrounded dead stones, how are those scored?

It depends on which Japanese ruleset is used and on the procedural 
moment when the question is being studied for a position. It can depend 
on referee arbitration.

http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/j_verbal_status.pdf
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/j1989c.html
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/wagc.html
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/wagci.html
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/wagcmod.html
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/wagcinf.html
http://home.snafu.de/jasiek/wagcflaw.html

In short, capture (possibly throw-in and capture again) before the first 
succession of passes is my recommendation.

-- 
robert jasiek



More information about the Computer-go mailing list